2014 BBS Leadership Group Shot  

The Leadership Program


Per Karlsson

KarlssonBackground:

Originally from Uddevalla on the west coast of Sweden, I currently attend an accelerated veterinary program at the Royal Veterinary College in London, about to start my final year of rotations. Concurrently, I am finishing my 5 year engineering degree in Biotechnology (Biomaterials/Tissue Engineering) at Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg (Sweden), where I've also received a BSc in Bioengineering. Prior to starting in London, I gained MSc and BSc degrees in Zoophysiology and Biology from the University of Gothenburg, focusing on non-invasive bioinstrumentation of non-mammalian species. To finish off with some fun trivia, I used to work extra as a trained armoured vehicle driver during my studies in Gothenburg.


Interests:

Beyond my professional interests, music is by far my greatest interest; after having picked up guitar and piano at the age of 7, becoming a guitarist was for a very long time my planned career - If I'm not playing myself, I love listening and talking about this subject in general! Other interests include travelling, computers, photography and sports (climbing, ice hockey, floorball and skiing). Upon arrival at Cornell, I have just returned from Indonesia where I have led a research expedition for a number of weeks to investigate sustainable aquaculture; sustainable use of natural resources and the conservation of endangered species are very important interests of mine.

Career Goal:

I hope to work actively in the fields of comparative and regenerative medicine, with a focus on how humans and animals with neurological and/or cardiovascular disorders may be treated. A life-long dream is to help paralyzed individuals to regain control over their own body. As an engineer and zoophysiologist, I have already been involved with work to improve the treatments relating to the detrimental effects of myocardial infarctions and strokes. This is something I wish to continue to work on as a clinician. I also have a childhood dream to work as a wildlife veterinarian at some point in my life; hopefully, I will be able to help out in volunteering projects whenever I can.