2014 BBS Leadership Group Shot  

The Leadership Program


Hanna Telama

TelamaBackground:

I was born in Tampere, Finland on the 27th of November, 1986. I spent my first 10 years in central Finland, in a city called Jyväskylä. In 1997 I moved to Thailand, where I spent the following nine years growing up in a multicultural environment. At the age of 16 I decided to pursue the International Baccalaureate program so I left my family home to live in Bangkok. After graduation in spring 2005, I took a gap year from school and focused solely on training and competing in equine sports (dressage and show jumping). In fall 2006 I began studies of veterinary medicine at the University of Helsinki. During my studies, I attended a 1 year exchange program to the faculty of veterinary medicine at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences. I am now close to the end of the second last year of my veterinary studies.

 

Interests:

My primary interest is horses and equine sports & medicine. My other hobbies include running, reading and cooking. I am also active in two student organizations.

Career Goal:

I have a passion for horses and I am determined to build my career around them. I am especially keen about equine orthopedics and would like to get involved with research on methods to enhance post-trauma tissue reparation of equine and human athletes. My career goal is to combine equine practice and clinical research, and so I see myself spending most of my career life at university hospitals. After graduation, I would like to seek further education abroad, and possibly complete a PhD in the United States. I have interest and inclination towards leadership and ultimately, would like to lead a research group and be involved in teaching.