Biological and Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program



Veterinarian Scientists

Interested students should contact:

NYSTEM Training Grant
Dr. Lisa Fortier
Program Director
Associate Professor of Surgery, Cornell University
E-mail: Dr. Fortier


NYSTEM Training Grant

The objective of the Empire State Veterinary Student Stem Cell Research Training Program (NYSTEM) is to provide rigorous laboratory training in stem cell science for veterinary students during a one year research fellowship. The program endeavors to foster the development of uniquely trained veterinary scientists by immersing them in a stem cell project where they will develop theoretical excellence, learn investigative skills and make novel contributions to the field of stem cell biology throughout their careers. For more information see press release here.

Applications are due Friday, November 15, 2014 to the Office of Graduate Education via email. The selection process is completed by the Executive Committee comprised of three faculty members associated with the Program. Acceptance to the program is based upon:

  • GPA (minimum of 3.0 while in veterinary school)
  • GRE scores
  • Brief essay (1-2 pages) relating the student's research interests to their career path
  • Two letters of recommendation
  • Mentor qualifications (student training, publication record)

Eligibility - Second year students who are finishing Block 4 or Third year students completing Block 5B are eligible to apply.

Participating Investigators

Charles F. "Chip" Aquadro Daniel Barbash

Lawrence Bonassar

Nicolas Buchon Jonathan Butcher
Paula Cohen Scott Coonrod Longying (Lynn) Dong Claudia Fischbach-Teschl Maria Julia Felippe
Lisa Fortier Moonsoo Jin Kenneth Kemphues Michael Kotlikoff Natasza Kurpios
Jan Lammerding S. Sylvia Lee John Lis Jun Kelly Liu Qiaoming Long
Dan Luo John March Alexander Nikitin Alan Nixon Ling Qi
Andrea Quaroni Brian Rudd John Schimenti Vimal Selvaraj Xiling Shen
Ankur Singh Paul Soloway Alexander Travis Tudorita (Doina) Tumbar Gerlinde Van de Walle
Watt Webb Robert Weiss Rebecca Williams Andrew Yen Warren Zipfel