Several faculty, staff receive SUNY Chancellor’s Awards

Four members of the College of Veterinary Medicine’s community have won 2018-2019 Chancellor’s Awards from State University of New York (SUNY) Chancellor Dr. Kristina Johnson.

The SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence are presented annually to faculty and staff across the SUNY system. The awards honor consistently superior professional achievement and encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence. Recognition is awarded in five categories: Faculty service librarianship, professional service, scholarship and creative activities, and teaching.

The winners were announced during the June 6 college faculty meeting. Honorees include:

Lisa Fortier, Ph.D. ’98, the James Law Professor of Large Animal Surgery, Department of Clinical Sciences: Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities

Dr. Nita Irby, Ruttenberg Senior Lecturer, Section of Ophthalmology, Department of Clinical Sciences: Excellence in Faculty Service

Renata Ivanek Miojevic, Ph.D. ’08, associate professor, Department of Population Medicine and Diagnostic Sciences: Excellence in Teaching

Toral Patel, formerly a generalist with CVM Human Resources, currently a diversity and inclusion specialist with the university’s Department of Inclusion and Workforce Diversity: Excellence in Professional Service

Collage of winners, with Fortier in a lab coat, Irby examining a horse, Ivanek at a desk, and Patel with the HR team outside the entrance to the college
Clockwise from top: Fortier; Irby; Patel (left, middle) with the HR team in May 2018; and Ivanek Miojevic. Photos by Brand Communications, Rachel Philipson and CVM.

The complete list of winners is available online.