NYSCHAP

The New York State Cattle Health Assurance Program (NYSCHAP) is an integrated disease prevention program that utilizes a team of advisors to develop a farm-specific herd health plan.

Program

The objectives of this integrated herd plan are to:

  • increase the herd's health, productivity and profitability
  • assure food safety, public health, and consumer confidence in dairy products
  • promote environmental stewardship

To enroll in NYSCHAP, contact your herd veterinarian. They will then make arrangements with the regional field veterinarian from the Department of Agriculture and Markets.

To access your herd results online, please log in.

People

Melanie Hemenway, DVM
5577 Mungers Mill Road
Silver Springs, NY 14550
Phone: (585) 313-7541
Fax: (585) 313-7541
melanie.hemenway@agriculture.ny.gov

Field Veterinarians

Contact Counties
Dr. Patrina Ashley
315-408-5753
patrina.ashley@agriculture.ny.gov
Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Oswego
Dr. Chad Wall
607-643-3540
chad.wall@agriculture.ny.gov
Delaware, Nassau, Orange, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, Richmond
Dr. Roger Ellis
518-642-9490
roger.ellis@agriculture.ny.gov
Essex, Hamilton, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren, Washington
Dr. Melanie Hemenway
585-313-7541
melanie.hemenway@agriculture.ny.gov
Allegany, Livingston, Wyoming
Dr. Cricket Johnson
585-704-1839
cricket.johnson@agriculture.ny.gov
Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagra, Orleans, Wayne, Wyoming

Dr. Chad Wall
607-643-3540
chad.wall@agriculture.ny.gov

Chemung, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Yates
Dr. Shannon Carpenter
716-783-4650
shannon.carpenter@agriculture.ny.gov
Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautaugua, Erie
Dr. Jessica Scillieri-Smith
315-414-7367
jessica.scillierismith@agriculture.ny.gov
Clinton, Franklin, Jefferson, St. Lawrence
Dr. Robert Scrafford
518-369-7749
robert.scrafford@agriculture.ny.gov
Broome, Chenango, Fulton, Herkimer, Montgomery, Otsego, Schoharie
Dr. Rebecca Goodale
315-727-0789
rebecca.goodale@agriculture.ny.gov
Cayuga, Cortland, Onondaga, Ontario, Seneca
Dr. Amy Willsey
518-225-4628
amy.willsey@agriculture.ny.gov
Albany, Columbia, Dutchess, Greene, Nassau, Putnam, Suffolk, Ulster, Westchester, Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, Richmond

Confidentiality

THE AGRICULTURE AND MARKETS LAW, ARTICLE 16, SUBDIVISION 41 EXEMPTS FROM PUBLIC DISCLOSURE ANY PROPRIETARY FARM PROTOCOL, ANIMAL OR HERD TESTING INFORMATION AND/OR PRODUCER HERD DATA MAINTAINED IN CONFIDENCE AND VOLUNTARILY PROVIDED BY AN OWNER OR OPERATOR OF A FARM OPERATION TO PARTICIPATE IN A VOLUNTARY CATTLE HEALTH PROGRAM.

Records relating to diagnostic testing shall be the property of the herd owner and shall be treated confidentially by NYSCHAP. Such records shall be received and accepted by the Commissioner as confidential pursuant to Section 23 of the Agriculture and Markets Law, but may be used by the Department in any regulatory action or proceeding involving the failure of any person to comply with the provisions of the program.

Share this: