Skip to main content

Diagnostic Sciences

Our veterinary diagnostic faculty are all part of the the Animal Health Diagnostic Center (AHDC), one of the most comprehensive veterinary diagnostic laboratories in the country.  

The sophisticated and comprehensive diagnostic capabilities of our faculty include anatomic pathology (necropsy and histopathology services), clinical pathology (hematology, hemostasis, cytology, endocrinology), nutritional and toxicology testing. Infectious disease sections span all relevant disciplines including bacteriology, mycology, parasitology, and virology with a wide range of culture capabilities and available cell lines. The molecular diagnostics laboratory has high-throughput capacity for identifying defined and novel pathogenic and non-pathogenic organisms, mutation detection for genetic disease, and whole genome sequencing of bacterial isolates.

The AHDC services include large and small-scale testing for academic and industry research and development. We excel in assay customization and integrated diagnostic support, with flexibility to meet the needs of clients engaged in basic and applied research and development.


Anatomic Pathology (all Anatomic Pathology faculty are appointed in the department of Biomedical Sciences) 

Elizabeth Buckles, Associate Clinical Professor 
Gerald Duhamel, Professor
Katie Kelly, Assistant Professor
Sean McDonough, Associate Professor
Andrew Miller, Assistant Professor
Jeanine Peters-Kennedy, Associate Clinical Professor
Teresa Southard, Section Chief of Anatomic Pathology, Associate Clinical Professor

Avian Disease

Gavin Hitchener, Director of the Duck Lab, Extension Associate
Jarra Jagne, Senior Extension Associate

Bacteriology and Mycology

Craig Altier, Professor, Interim Director of the Bacteriology Laboratory

Clinical Pathology

Erica Behling-Kelly, Director of Clinical Pathology, Associate Professor
Tracy Stokol, Professor
Ashleigh Newman, Assistant Clinical Professor

Comparative Coagulation

Marjory Brooks, Director of Comparative Coagulation, Senior Research Associate


Ned Place, Associate Professor
Jeri-Lyn Cheraskin, Extension Associate
Barbara Schanbacher, Extension Associate 

Molecular Diagnostics

Laura Goodman, Director of Molecular Diagnostics, Assistant Research Professor


Mani Lejeune, Director of Clinical Parasitology, Senior Extension Associate

Quality Milk Production Services

Daryl Nydam, Director of Quality Milk Production Services, Associate Professor
Gloria Gioia, Research Associate
Paolo Moroni, Senior Extension Associate
Paula Ospina, Extension Associate 
Carlos Santisteban, Extension Associate
Anja Sipka, Research Associate
Paul Virkler, Senior Extension Associate
Rick Watters, Senior Extension Associate
Frank Welcome, Senior Extension Associate
Michael Zurakowski, Senior Extension Associate

Rabies Program

Laura Bigler, Extension Associate


Korana Stipetic, Director of AHDC Receiving, Extension Associate

Serology and Immunology

Bettina Wagner, Director of Serology and Immunology, Chair, Professor
Cassandra Guarino, Extension Associate


Karyn Bischoff, Senior Extension Associate

Veterinary Support Services

Elisha Frye, Extension Associate
Erin Goodrich, Senior Extension Associate, Associate Director of VSS
Linda Mittel, Senior Extension Associate
Belinda Thompson, Assistant Clinical Professor, Director of VSS
Toby Pinn-Woodcock, Extension Associate


Edward Dubovi, Director of Virology, Professor
Randy Renshaw, Research Associate

Wildlife Health

Elizabeth Bunting, Senior Extension Associate
Maria Forzan, Senior Research Associate
​​​​​​​Krysten Schuler, Senior Extension Associate

Share this: