Skip to main content

BMS Seminar Series

Seminars are held Tuesdays at 4pm in the Vet Research Tower Lecture Hall III (T1-003) unless otherwise noted.

SPRING 2019

Tuesday, January 22, Hosted by Dr. Praveen Sethupathy
Mauro Calabrese, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Anatomy of the Long Noncoding RNA

Tuesday, January 29, Hosted by Dr. Bethany Cummings
Kristen Vella, PhD
Assistant Professor of Metabolism in Medicine
Weill Cornell Medicine
Using Chemogenetics to Determine how NPY/AgRP Neurons Regulate Thyroid Hormone Levels

Tuesday, February 5, LH4, HOLD
BBS Signature Symposium Series

Tuesday, February 12, Hosted by Dr. Kristy Richards
Tony Bais, PhD
TBA

Tuesday, February 19, Hosted by Drs. Paula Cohen and Ned Place
SPECIAL SEMINAR by the Center for Reproductive Genomics

Vera Gorbunova, PhD
Doris Johns Cherry Professor of Biology, Co-director, Rochester Aging Research Center
Department of Biology, University of Rochester

Tuesday, February 26, LH4, HOLD
BBS Signature Symposium Series
February Break

Tuesday, March 5, LH4, Hosted by Dr. Rick Cerione
BBS Signature Symposium Series
John Scott, PhD
Professor, Chair, Department of Pharmacology
University of Washington, School of Medicine

Tuesday, March 12, Hosted by Dr. Bethany Cummings
*Note special location* LH1
Mark Huising, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Physiology and Membrane Biology
UC Davis School of Medicine

Tuesday, March 19, Hosted by Dr. Paula Cohen
Jeff Sekelsky, PhD
Professor of Biology
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Tuesday, March 26, LH4, Hosted by Dr. Bob Weiss
James Amatruda, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Molecular Biology and Internal Medicine
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX

Tuesday, April 2, LH4, HOLD
BBS Signature Symposium Series
Spring Break

Tuesday, April 9, Hosted by Dr. Praveen Sethupathy
Terry Furey, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Genetics
University of North Carolina School of Medicine

Tuesday, April 23, Hosted by Dr. Bethany Cummings
Adolfo Garcia-Ocaña, PhD
Professor of Medicine, Diabetes Obesity and Metabolism Institute
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Tuesday, April 30, LH4, Hosted by Dr. Holger Sondermann
BBS Signature Symposium Series
Julie Pfeiffer, PhD
Professor, Department of Microbiology
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Tuesday, May 7, LH4, Hosted by Orchi Anannya
BBS Signature Symposium Series

Blossom Damania, PhD
Professor, Microbiology & Immunology, Vice Dean for Research, School of Medicine
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

 

FALL 2019

Tuesday, September 3, LH4, Hosted by Dr. Praveen Sethupathy
BBS Signature Symposium Series

Josh Mendell, PhD
Professor, Department of Molecular Biology
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Tuesday, September 10, Hold for Zoetis Award Recognition Event

Tuesday, September 17, No Speaker Scheduled

Tuesday, September 24, LH4, Hosted by Dr. Carrie Addler
BBS Signature Symposium Series

Coleen Murphy, PhD
Professor, Molecular Biology and the Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics
Princeton University

Tuesday, October 1, LH4, Hosted by Dr. John Schimenti
BBS Signature Symposium Series
Yijun Ruan, PhD
Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences
Florine Deschenes Roux Chair 
Director of Genome Sciences
Jackson Laboratory Center Center, Roux Center for Genomics and Computational Biology

Tuesday, October 8, Hosted by Dr. Bob Weiss
Lee Zou, PhD
Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School 
Associate Scientific Director, Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center 
James & Patricia Poitras Endowed Chair for Cancer Research

Tuesday, October 15, Hold for BMS Tenure Seminar
Fall Break

Tuesday, October 22, Hold for BMS Tenure Seminar

Tuesday, October 29, LH4, Hold for BMS Tenure Seminar

Tuesday, November 5, LH4, HOLD
BBS Signature Symposium Series

Tuesday, November 12, Hold for BMS Tenure Seminar

Tuesday, November 19, No Speaker Scheduled

Tuesday, November 26, HOLD
BBS Signature Symposium Series
Thanksgiving Break

Tuesday, December 3, LH4, HOLD
BBS Signature Symposium Series

Tuesday, December 10 - No Speaker Scheduled

Share this: