Zoetis Award


For outstanding achievement and dedication in the field of Veterinary Medicine

Tuesday, September 14, 2021, 4-5pm

Reception to immediately follow outside

Heidi L. Reesink, VMD, PhD, DACVS

Assistant Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences
College of Veterinary Medicine, Cornell University 

 "Horses, Hounds and Humans: A One-Health Approach to Osteoarthritis" 

The Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence recognizes outstanding research effort, productivity, and the advancement of knowledge in areas relevant to veterinary medicine. With generous support from Zoetis, we have been able to highlight and celebrate the exceptional research achievements of our very accomplished junior faculty for 37 years.

The award is intended for an outstanding faculty member at an early stage of his or her career. Lecturers, Senior Lecturers, Instructors, Senior Research Associates, Senior Extension Associates, Research Scientists, Principal Research Scientists, Assistant Professors, and Associate Professors are eligible for the award. Nominations are restricted to individuals who, at the submission deadline, are not more than six years beyond their first faculty appointment at Cornell.

Year Award Recipients
2020 Jessica McArt, DVM, PhD
2019 Jeongmin Song, PhD
2018 Manuel Martin-Flores, MV
2017 Renata Ivanek, DVM, PhD
2016 Gerlinde Van de Walle, DVM, PhD
2015 Adam Boyko, PhD
2014 Rodrigo Bicalho, DVM, PhD
2013 Jonathan Cheetham, VetMB, PhD, DACVS
2012 Cynthia Leifer, PhD
2011 Eric C. Ledbetter, DVM
2010 Holger Sondermann, PhD
2009 Margaret S. Bynoe, PhD
2008 Robert Weiss, PhD
2007 John S. L. Parker, BVMS, PhD
2006 Alexander J. Travis, VMD, PhD
2005 Lisa Fortier, DVM, PhD
2004 Teresa A. Gunn
2003 None
2002 Ruth Collins, PhD
2001 Gary Whittaker, PhD
2000 None
1999 Kenneth W. Simpson, BVM&S, PhD
1998 James N. MacLeod
1997 Rory J. Todhunter, BVSc, PhD
1996 Peter F. Daels
1995 Joel D. Baines
1994 Edward J. Pearce
1993 Jun-Lin Guan
1992 Barry A. Ball & Colin R. Parrish, PhD
1991 Judith A. Appleton, PhD
1990 Cornelia E. Farnum
1989 Patrick W. Concannon
1988 Sharon Center, DVM
1987 Curtis S. Fullmer
1986 Karel A. Schat, DVM, PhD & Douglas F. Antczak, VMD, PhD